Have Box, Will Build


This weekend was spent being creative, not building..but research and development.  After scouring the local tobacco store just a few miles from home, I decided to branch out and go to a few of the shops in the surrounding areas.  I am sooo glad that I did!  While we didn’t quite know what to expect, I was particularly interested in a couple of shops that I had found online.

The first stop was about 45 minutes away.  As we drove, it started to snow…again.  Rather than get discouraged, we just took it all in stride and appreciated the beauty and touch of serenity it added to the experience.  And to top off our great mood was the fact that we got a great parking spot right across from the shop..so no schlepping through a downtown area in 20 degree weather with snow falling! 

 When we walked in, we were greeted by the shop owner and guests, they had a group of folks enjoying the football game and a stogie in the back.  Lucky for us, the boxes were already upfront and stacked so that they were easily accessible! 

After looking through the selection, I have to admit I walked away with some really nice cigar boxes!  I also found a couple of items I want to tinker with.  Not only did I barter a great deal, but I am proud to say that soon..a Slackjack guitar will be gracing the wall of this fine establishment.  (I’ll make that announcement and post pictures soon.)

We made a dash back to the car, excited with our new find and anxious to get to our next stop to look for more!  First…a stop at Lowe’s.  I have to say..I love the possibilities and the creativity that hits me when I walk into a hardware store.  Endless ideas….

After a couple of stops, we ended up back in Johnson City to hit Shamrock’s Cigar Shop.  This shop has been around for over 75 years, so they know their tobacco.  I have to say one common thread in the tobacco industry is how helpful and knowledgable they are about their products.  So after a couple of minutes of discussion with one of their employees, we acquired a few more boxes. 

So without further adieu, here are a few pics of the boxes..in no certain order.

I’m excited to say that in less than 24 hours after purchasing the Brick House Cigar Box, the box is SOLD!  And so the process begins, questions, sketches, and finally the build.  I’ll post pictures of the Brick House Cigar Box Guitar when it is complete…this one is going to be a beauty. 

If you are interested in any of the available boxes, just shoot me an email to slackjackguitars@gmail.com or give my home office a call at 423-753-0004.

Published in: on January 11, 2010 at 1:57 AM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://slackjackguitars.wordpress.com/2010/01/11/have-box-will-build/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment